Vince Staples announces new album ‘Dark Times’, shares video for ‘Shame On The Devil’

Vince Staples has announced a new album, ‘Dark Times’ – find out more about the upcoming release below.

Last night (May 19), rapper Vince Staples took to social media to announce his next album, ‘Dark Times’. Per his post on X (formerly Twitter), ‘Dark Times’ is due to arrive this Friday (May 24) and is now available for pre-order.

The rapper has since previewed the album with a new single, ‘Shame On The Devil’, which comes with an accompanying music video. While the video – which sees Staples rapping in a split screen – only runs for 50seconds, the full song has since been posted and lasts over three minutes.

[embedded content]


The rapper has also shared the track list for the record, which is made up of songs such as ‘Close Your Eyes and Swing’, ‘Government Cheese’, ‘Liars’, ‘Nothing Matters’ and ‘Why Won’t The Sun Come Out?”

See the full track listing for Vince Staples’ ‘Dark Times’ below.


Per a Pitchfork report, the album will mark Staples’ final album with Def Jam Records.

‘Dark Times’ comes after the rapper spoke about Drake’s and Kendrick Lamar’s beef earlier this month, saying that more people should be paying attention to what’s happening behind-the-scenes in the music industry, and how those changes are negatively affecting the Black community.

Vince Staples’ last album, ‘Ramona Park Broke My Heart’ scored a four-star review upon its release in 2022. Kyann-Sian Williams wrote for NME: “Emphasising Staples’ versatility, ‘Ramona Park Broke My Heart’ continues the revival of hip-hop’s golden age (also epitomised by Cordae‘s 2021 album ‘From A Birds Eye View’). The production is clean and the rhymes imaginative as the artist digs deeper than ever before. Yes, ‘Vince Staples’ was a beautifully personal reflection from start to finish, but ‘Ramona Park…’ enriches the listener’s relationship with the rapper – who hasn’t looked back on their former home with mixed feelings and deep nostalgia?”